Meet Our Board of Directors

Will Pierson
Will serves on the Board.
John Mangan
Taylor Quilty
Taylor serves on the Board.
Courtney Dowe
Courtney serves on the Board.
Brenda Carr
Brenda serves on the Board. She, also, serves as President.

Deborah Fisher
Deborah serves as Board Member and Vice President.
I am Deb Fisher from Julian Woods Community.  I’ve been living at JWC for 20 years now.  I grow flowers and plants which I sell at the State College Farmers Market and also for weddings.  My business, Deb’s Flower Farm, is perfectly suited for my love of nature and plants, and allows me to stay on the land I love almost every day.  We grow plenty of vegetables as well and have Free Range hens for a bountiful supply of eggs. Over the years we have hosted Fresh Air Kids and occasional interns interested in gardening. My two daughters, Amy and Katherine, grew up at JWC and are presently attending colleges elsewhere.  I am hoping to host more New Farmer Interns in the future to help with the gardens and greenhouses.

Paul Harne
Paul serves as Board Member and Clerk. 
Karen Stupski
Board Member and Executive Director
Karen Stupski is a sustainability educator, grant writer, and communitarian.  She has been an active member of School of Living since 1993 and currently serves as SOL’s part-time Executive Director. She lives at Heathcote Community, one of SOL’s land trust communities, where she coordinates the permaculture education program. Karen is also a faculty member at Goddard College and Development Director of the Gunpowder Valley Conservancy. 

Jerome Liss
Board Member and Treasurer
Jerome resides at StellaLou Farm, one of School of Living’s land trusts.

To send a message to the Board of Directors, please, go to our contact page and your message can be shared with our Board. 

School of Living Officers:

  • President: Brenda Carr
  • Vice President: Deborah Fisher
  • Executive Director: Karen Stupski
  • Clerk:  Paul Harne
  • Assistant Clerk:  Ann Wilken
  • Treasurer:  Jerome Liss
  • Assistant Treasurers:  Ann Wilken and Herb Goldstein
  • Office Manager:  Ann Wilken
  • Corresponding Secretary: Ruth Bennett
  • Green Revolution Editor:  Bob Flatley
  • Advisory Board: June Yeatman and David Harper 

School of Living: A non-profit educational network